2015 Globalization Award Announced

On Tuesday, April 7, 2015, IBP held its 2014-15 Globalization Awards ceremony.  This year the event was held in the new Domenici building’s atrium and a heightened effort was made to attract nominees.  It was successful, as 13 nominations were made.  The IBP Advisory Council helped choose the winner, Dr. Winnie Lee.  Dr. Lee received a trophy and a $1,000 travel voucher from IBP.  The nominees are listed below.

Three areas also took the opportunity to offer first-ever globalization awards for their areas.  Those areas and winners are also listed below.


Nominees for the 2014-15 Globalization Award

Nominees for the 2014-15 NMSU Globalization Award

  • (Winner) Dr. Yu-Feng “Winnie” Lee – Associate Professor International Business, College of Business
  • Christopher P. Brown, Associate Professor and Department Head, Geography
  • Sonya Cooper – Associate Dean, College of Engineering
  • Sandra Deshors – Assistant Professor Linguistics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Nancy Flores – Food Technology Specialist, College of Agriculture, Consumer & Environmental Sciences
  • Juan Garcia – Vice President for Student Services, NMSU-A
  • Jose Gonzales-Gonzales – Associate Professor Spanish, NMSU-A
  • Ilana Lapid – Assistant Professor Creative Media Institute, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Jill McDonald – Professor Public Health Sciences, College of Health & Social Services
  • Brook Milligan – Professor Biology, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Michael K. (Mick) O’Neill – Professor, Agricultural Science Center
  • Brenda Seevers – Distinguished Professor, College of Agriculture, Consumer & Environmental Sciences


    Winnie Lee accepts her award.

  • Kenny Stevens – Professor, College of Engineering







Three other areas also presented awards recognizing international engagement:


 College of Arts And Sciences – Presented by Christa Slaton, Dean

  • Rani Alexander, Anthropology
  • Jeff Longwell, Language and Linguistics


IMG_0858 - Copy

R. Alexander, C. Slaton, J. Longwell


College of Education – Presented by Bob Wood for Dean Michael Morehead

  • Candace Kaye, Curriculum & Instruction
  • Frank “Paco” Gilpin, Kinesiology and Dance
  • Marlene Salas-Provance, Special Education and Communication Disorders
IMG_0859 - Copy

B. Wood, F. Gilpin, M. Salas-Provance, C. Kaye


Office of the Vice President for Research – Presented by Vimal Chaitanya, Vice President for Research

  • Ross Staffeld, Mathematical Sciences
  • James McAteer, Astronomy
IMG_0860 - Copy

J. McAteer, V. Chaitanya, R. Staffield



This entry was posted in Special. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Translate »